EVGA 590SLI onboard sound problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default EVGA 590SLI onboard sound problem

So am at my brothers house reformatting his comp and we can't get the onboard sound to work post reformat.

Problem number 1 is that the copy of XP won't validate, it's a legit copy from my student days from the university but I guess all the licenses have been used so now it won't update post SP2.

We re-installed drivers from EVGA a number of times but no change, in control panel sound settings there is no hardware detected.

Any ideas?

Also, this is time sensitive as I'll be leaving late tonight so any guesses no matter how unsure you are would be appreciated. google search showed up nothing useful.

Thanks,
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: EVGA 590SLI onboard sound problem

is the onboard sound enabled in the bios.

call M$ about the activation problem. i had to do it a few times for vista and the tech support aint bad, took me about 15mins.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: EVGA 590SLI onboard sound problem

Turns out I'm no longer allowed "fresh" key as I'm no longer a student at the school. Freak'n eh! What a joke, M$ bs to make the fat cats fatter. Anyways, I have another one I know will work if we can't solve this problem, but this install is SP2 so I don't know if it's worth a re-format.

[edit] problem fixed, eventually found a solution, had to go delete some reg stuff to enable realtech detection??? not sure, he did it but just an fyi that the problem is no more.
jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound problem please help! Kozar927 Computer Audio and Multimedia 18 10-27-2008 12:42 PM
Digital Source Question (Onboard vs Sound Card) gurusan Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 09-05-2008 01:40 PM
Sound Problem xXxexpertxXx Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-05-2008 01:04 AM
Sound card problem trombaham Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 06-14-2007 01:30 PM
Mysterious Sound Problem PartySized Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-13-2007 04:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.