EVGA 275 Co-Op problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2013, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Ok so I have been having a serious issue with my graphics card for at least a year. I've been dealing with it, but through my OT topic I have been generating a renewed interest in getting the issue solved. I cannot OC it anymore, the software is up to date but it's having some real issues overclocking it. It barely runs games on the lowest settings, and frequently crashes my windows gui. I get consistantly low scores on 3dmark, and my system bottleneck, which when I first built was the hard drive, is now solidly the graphics card. I have uninstalled and reinstalled drivers, changed which port it's in, updated drivers, and the only thing that I can think of is that one of the GPU's died. I have no way of knowing how to tell that, both appear to be operating when I open the nVidea display panel and in ELEET tuner. I'm lost and confused. there is no heat issues, I'm running a constant 65C.
Honestly I got the the point that I bought a new card but thanks to Mguire realized that the new one I bought is inferior to my current card, at the least at stock settings. anybody that has any advice, or knowledge to fix my issues? the help will be greatly appreciated
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Can you switch gpu's off/disable one in system panel? If so test each by itself.

I'm not really sure how they're setup so that my or may not be possible.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 08:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

what driver version are you using on the video card?
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Ok, it's been a while since I mentioned anything about this problem, I eventually stopped worrying about it due to time management, but I'm out of the navy now and have time to be nit picky. to answer patonb, no, I cannot turn off one GPU. I recently updated all my drivers. here's where it gets weird. when I load up Precision X, it at first registers the master GPU at 633mHz, which is the stock speed. after about a second or less, it downclocks itself to 300mHz, which isn't even selectable if I was manually adjusting the frequency. now, the 250GS (the slave GPU) is overclockable, stable, can adjust the voltage, memory freq, and GPU freq. the 275 (master) is unchangeable, stuck at 300mHz and 1169 Volts. even with the GPU's sinc'd, the master doesn't adjust and the slave does
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

The down clock is normal, all gpu's do that now.

Unless I'm miss reading this.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 02:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

If you got it new and it's dying, Since it's EVGA they still may honor there life time warranty they had when they were selling the 275, When my 285 crapped out I called and the tech had me do a few tests and said to send it in, I actually paid for the extra on the warranty and they sent me the replacement first and had me send my 285 back in the box I got the replacement in, Here is the kicker, They replaced it with a GTX 470 that I'm still using now. That's why I will only go with EVGA because they take care of there customers.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
The down clock is normal, all gpu's do that now. Unless I'm miss reading this.
the problem isn't with it downclocking... its downclocking past selectable options and you can't bring it back up. stock is 633mHz, it will not overclock, you can't change the memory clock, the only option on the master that changes is the fan speed
****EDTI****
Dauntae, I hadn't considered that... I will check into that later for sure! I don't care about an upgrade *as in if I get the same I will be happy with the same* but I do want my card to be working up to par
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Are you running a 250 and 275 in SLI? I know you mentioned me in the first post but I can't honestly remember the situation from back then.

When the card downclocks to the 300s it's because it's going into power saving mode. You have to give the card a full load before the drivers will bring it back to regular clocks. Like my 580 used to clock down to 50Mhz for 2D clocks and it put off significantly less heat that way. In the case of overclocking your card beyond stock clocks if you are running a 250 and 275 in SLI that could be why. If you mean individually and the 275 won't OC beyond stock clocks it could just be its time.

ANother thing you could try is ditching Precision for MSI Afterburner. I find it to be a better program personally.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 12:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

lots of good questions there pp_mguire. first, SLI. these two GPU's are on the same card, hence the co-op, and I believe they are constantly in SLI. next, pwer saver mode... I would agree with you on that, but would that effect only the 275? my 250gs gpu (again, same card) is currently overclocked to 850 I believe. Within precision I have the option to link the GPU's, and when I OC'd the 250, the same changes should have applied to the 275. no such luck. HOWEVER I will try what you say and put a load on it and see if it effects the GPU. I am truly thinking that it is, as you said, it's time. maybe it's time to bite the bullet and get a new card. last note, never used MSI Afterburner, and been using precision for 3 years.... I'm biased but I could give that a shot maybe lol
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 01:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: EVGA 275 Co-Op problem

Ahahaha how could I have forgot about that card. Pardon me, I remembered the 295 Coop which back then was eVGA's "superclocked" nomenclature. Your card has a 275 on it for graphics processing and the 250 is a dedicated PhysX unit. The two aren't in SLI and unless you tell NVCP to dedicate PhysX to just the 250 it isn't doing anything but sitting there pretty.

If you're linking the cards that's why it isn't doing anything. Precision and Afterburner can't OC two different GPUs. When running 2 of the same cards in SLI (let's say 2 680s) one Superclocked and the other vanilla the drivers will downclock the Superclocked card to vanilla speeds and either of those two programs in linked mode will overclock both cards at the same time. In this case, your two GPUs are totally different.

MSI Afterburner was wrote by the guy who created Rivatuner if that makes you feel any better. IMO it is a superior program with all of its features and non-kiddie look. It also comes with Kombustor which is a stressing program that will toss an easy load on your 275 to see if your clocks go back to normal.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.