Everything has gone wrong!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default Everything has gone wrong!!!

I got a new computer case today, the Raidmax Smilodon with a 500W power supply. The power supply seemed solid so I left it in instead of the 450 JPAC i used previously. I got everything installed and it worked flawlessly for 4 or 5 hours. I needed to restart my computer, and thats when everything went to ****. It stopped recognizing my boot drive, and my 160 GB data drive only shows up in bios as 8 GB. Also, before my bios load it starts telling me I have an inappropriate RAM setup, which i know is right. Also, I cannot get my DVD burner drive to be found by the bios. I have tried swapping cables, changing jumpers, cleared cmos, tried my old power supply. Do you think the new power supply is faulty and messed up my motherboard? I am pretty knowledgeable and all my friends come to me for help, but i just cannot seem to figure this one out.
__________________

free_rider20 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

It sounds like you might need to RMA the board.
Have you tried removing a ram stick if you have more than one.
What are your specs? Is the Ram your using listed in QVL listing for this board. Although its wierd to run for a few hours and then bite it. I've had some problems like that in the past but it was one of my SLI video cards died after the first hour after I built my system.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I am pretty sure all of this is caused by the PSU. Keep in mind the ram and processor configuration is the same as it was in my old case, I just swapped cases. Im not sure what brand of RAM I have, I knmow its bad but I have 3 different sticks from 3 different companies.
I have a Intel D865PERL board, Intel celeron D 2.93 Ghz processor, ATI radeon 9600XT video card. My boot drive is a Western digital 80 GB and my data drive is a Western digital 160 GB, both hooked through IDE cables. I had this setup in my old case with my old power supply for over a year and never had a bit of trouble other than a little overheating which i fixed by re-applying my thermal paste. Do you think that I could either get newegg or raidmax to cover the costs of a new mobo and HD since the new power supply(most likely) caused them damage?
free_rider20 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I misunderstood you about using your same system in a new case. I've built a lot of computers and have never had a power supply damage anything although it could happen. I have had problems with grounding out. Try to unscrew the screws and slip some antistatic bag under the board and boot it up. I just lay the board on a table with the bag under it and i have a cheater jumper wire for the front power pins to turn it on with and then i hook up everything and boot it up.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.