Ethernet port not working? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2014, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default Ethernet port not working?

I have a sony viao laptop, and in due to the rainy season humid air crept in. And cause the ethernet port socket for RJ45 plug to malfunction? So no wired internet connection was working. I saw that many side pins were loosened up so i tried to correct them by placing a bit of paper behind it. But then one of the pins got broken. So now could the ethernet socket of the laptop could be replaced/ repaired with a new one?

- k
__________________

phantom555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom555 View Post
I have a sony viao laptop, and in due to the rainy season humid air crept in. And cause the ethernet port socket for RJ45 plug to malfunction? So no wired internet connection was working. I saw that many side pins were loosened up so i tried to correct them by placing a bit of paper behind it. But then one of the pins got broken. So now could the ethernet socket of the laptop could be replaced/ repaired with a new one?

- k
In your part of india you will need to locate a computer shop that can desolder the ethernet port off and solder a new one on and test it.

If they tell you it can't be done, have them explain why and look into purchasing a wireless nic adapter.
If this is your only computer you "might" be looking at a new motherboard replacement to connect your router/modem. :/
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

Get a USB ethernet adapter to replace your built-in broken jack:
Amazon.com: Linksys USB Ethernet Adapter: Electronics

Trying to find a place to desolder the ethernet jack and put a new one on will cost a lot.

A new motherboard for the laptop would pretty much cost the same as getting a new laptop, unless you can somehow find a used one on eBay where everything works.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

I searched on the internet and found the self help section of sony viao....replacing a ethernet port...
https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Sony+Va...nt/2255#s11446

But then why its written that ethernet circuit is also be replaced? Wouldn't replacing just the screwed in RJ-45 socket port wired connection will not help? Its confusing in the self-help. If the laptop ethernet port is repaired/replaced by a professional and after that what if motherboard started to work abnormal?
phantom555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom555 View Post
I searched on the internet and found the self help section of sony viao....replacing a ethernet port...
https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Sony+Va...nt/2255#s11446

But then why its written that ethernet circuit is also be replaced? Wouldn't replacing just the screwed in RJ-45 socket port wired connection will not help? Its confusing in the self-help. If the laptop ethernet port is repaired/replaced by a professional and after that what if motherboard started to work abnormal?
Since it's on a separate board, you could just try and find a replacement ethernet board on eBay and replace it yourself

Edit: here you go... $5 + shipping: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sony-Vaio-VG...item1c1a097bb5

Either that, or get the USB ethernet adapter that I posted.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

So in the pc consumer market do they sale such replacements?

like suppose i buyed this type ethernet port ....

http://www.ebay.com/sch/sis.html?_nk...+Ethernet+Port

and after coming home opened the laptop to find that there is no hook nor latch to replace the new ethernet port? then?
phantom555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

That's why I posted the link to the part you need to get... the one I looks like it should work with the model you posted (VGN-S260). The one you posted is for other models.

Or instead of just getting the connector, you can get the connector + board for cheaper (and this is specifically for your VGN-S260):
Sony VGN S260 VGN s Series Modem Ethernet Connector Board IFX 311 1 862 524 11 | eBay

That part is a better deal IMO. Then you could either just take the connectors off of it, or replace the entire board it's connected to.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

I read the ethernet cable as M971 RJ-45 "015-0201-1594_A"
As i checked in various sites the shipping packages price is itself around 45 dollars(with 5dollars of the cable), thats 3000 rupees!!! Than 300 rupees of the cable itself.

I would have to enquire if it is available in the indian hardware pc shops.
If i open the laptop myself then if i never able to reassemble it? or some other problems arise like keyboard connections gone wrong...!!!
phantom555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom555 View Post
I read the ethernet cable as M971 RJ-45 "015-0201-1594_A"
As i checked in various sites the shipping packages price is itself around 45 dollars(with 5dollars of the cable), thats 3000 rupees!!! Than 300 rupees of the cable itself.
The one I posted is $3 + $8 shipping to India (Sony VGN-S260 VGN-S Series Modem Ethernet Connector Board IFX-311 1-862-524-11)

Unless you want the expedited shipping, then it's $3 + $30 shipping.

Quote:
I would have to enquire if it is available in the indian hardware pc shops.
If i open the laptop myself then if i never able to reassemble it? or some other problems arise like keyboard connections gone wrong...!!!
I highly doubt it's going to be available in a shop.

If you don't want to disassemble/replace the part yourself then buy the part and take it to a repair shop and have them put it in for you.

As long as you follow the steps and are careful/slow, then really you shouldn't have an issue doing it yourself. But like I said, if you're not comfortable doing it yourself... just have a shop swap out the part after you order it yourself. If you order it yourself then they should only have to charge you the price of labor to swap out the part, instead of labor + the cost of the part + their part price increase.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
phantom555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: india
Posts: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to phantom555
Default Re: Ethernet port not working?

yes when the laptop wears out i would surely like to disassemble it myself...
__________________

phantom555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet port does not work? dwarfdude77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 06-10-2014 04:51 PM
PC is showing the Ethernet port as a 1394 port Katmandu Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-17-2007 08:07 AM
One USB port port working gyaradoz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-20-2005 09:09 PM
Ethernet port not working. dartgande Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-02-2005 03:03 PM
Gigabit Ethernet compatible with Fast Ethernet? elp Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-18-2004 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.