Ethernet port does not work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2014, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Ethernet port does not work?

Hi guys, my Ethernet port on my ASUS K55N does not seem to work for no apparent reason. I have never used Ethernet with it and I just recently tried to do so to download a large file, but the ethernet did not work. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

P.S. I am running Win7
__________________

dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Have you checked your Device Manager to see if the ethernet is recognized/driver is working properly?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Have you checked your Device Manager to see if the ethernet is recognized/driver is working properly?
Yes, under other devices, Ethernet controller, it says

"The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)

There is no driver selected for the device information set or element.


To find a driver for this device, click Update Driver."
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Notebooks & Ultrabooks - K55N - ASUS

Select Win7 x64 -> Expand "LAN" -> Download the Realtek driver there

If you're missing any other drivers, you might as well download/install them as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Notebooks & Ultrabooks - K55N - ASUS

Select Win7 x64 -> Expand "LAN" -> Download the Realtek driver there

If you're missing any other drivers, you might as well download/install them as well.
Where?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Oh ok nvm
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

It says
"FindFile failed'
then does a few things and says
"The Realtek Network Controller was not found. If deep sleep mode is enabled Please Plug the Cable"

??
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Plug the ethernet cable in. Some NIC's disable themselves unless they're plugged into an active ethernet connection.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 04:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Plug the ethernet cable in. Some NIC's disable themselves unless they're plugged into an active ethernet connection.
It says the same thing...
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Ethernet port does not work?

Post the following:

In device Manager, double click on your Ethernet device that's missing drivers --> Go to the Details tab -> under the 'Property' dropdown, select 'Hardware Ids' --> It should have something like VEN_####&DEV_#### (where #### is some alphanumeric value).

Post the line that has the VEN and DEV strings in them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My ethernet port doesn't work Druid Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 01-19-2009 04:36 PM
PC is showing the Ethernet port as a 1394 port Katmandu Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-17-2007 08:07 AM
The AutoPlay Function Does Not Work and the Current Media Does Not Appear in My Compu james84sg Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-26-2005 10:36 AM
Ethernet port not working. dartgande Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-02-2005 03:03 PM
my ethernet card does not work sharp Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-31-2004 06:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.