errors during startup--bad RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default errors during startup--bad RAM?

greetings techies!

After i start my computer, when the blue "welcome" screen is up, i get an error message that says

".....0x98e9823c referenced memory could not be read"

(or "written" instead of "read" and the numbers have varied)

Typically the error message heading says "logonui.exe" or "winlogon.exe" application error. I then receive the blue screen of death.

Its done this since i replaced the mobo. I've tried booting with two different memory sticks because I figured i had bad RAM. But no luck with either. Any ideas? Could this be a faulty mobo? Did i miss something in the BIOS setup?

help is appreciated. thanks.
__________________

sLevin is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

try running in safe mode to see if that works, try resetting the cmos, or try redoin windows
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 03:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Running in safe mode gave me the same error.

I reset the CMOS, but that didn't seem to change anything. Is there somehting i should be changing in the setup?

I setup XP with my cd. Or tried to. On the 7th or 8th attempt I got as far as selecting a partition and a folder for windows. Then it decided that it couldn't find the "kys.ks" file. (the name was something along those lines) Enter blue screen of death.

Could there a compatibility issue with my mobo? It's an MSI Via P4M800. My RAM is micron pc2100, 266mhz. I thought I looked it over thoroughly before i bought it, but maybe I missed something.

I also noticed that on every 3rd or 4th restart, nothing would display on my monitor and i'd need to restart. Normal?
sLevin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.