Error when going into standby - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default Error when going into standby

every time i try to go into standby, a message appears on my desktop...here it is



i dont know how to update it when it says...or if this is actually a virus....any one know what to do?
if you can see the image,

http://img158.imageshack.us/my.php?image=errorfi4.png


thanks
__________________

dsen is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Im going to go ahead and assume you're running windows XP.

Something you can try,

Go into control panel > system > click on hardware tab > click on device manager > expand the modem tree > right click on your modem and click on properties.

Once in properties, click on the power management tab and untick 'Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby'.

It might be different for you.

You arent online using dialup at the same time you're trying to go into standby are you?
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

well..i recently got cable internet and since its always online...would that affect it?

i got to the properties with your instructions but i cant find a "power management tab"

and yes im using window XP
thanks
dsen is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Ok, so seeing as you dont need a dialup modem,

Try this:

Go into control panel > system > click on hardware tab > click on device manager > expand the modem tree > right click on your modem and click disable.

Let us know how you get on.
imation is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

ok it works fine now...thanks for the directions...really appreciate the help.
thanks alot
dsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.