Error number? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Question Error number?

Ive been having a minor problem with my computer when I was trying to install a game it starts getting InstallShield ready but then shuts it down and shows error number 1155 and some gibberish after that...if it helps the game is not English but It worked fine on other computers before. I also noticed the same problem when installing some of the games onto my other computer: some of them install normally while others show the error and shut installation down.
Could you please explain what the error means or maybe just give me some site that gives those numbers with errors...
Thanks,
DM
__________________

dragonmaster90 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Please post the full error and a screen shot if possible. Please translate if necessary.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

umm the problem is that I cant understadn it either...because its written in sort of messed up english/french letters with totally ununderstandable words but ill try to get it now.
dragonmaster90 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

its something like :

1155: Oaee L:/Aiocea.msi la laeaai

where L:/ is the name of the cd drive...
dragonmaster90 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

no one?
dragonmaster90 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

This is a wierd error....
By any chance....are all these games foreign.....
If so, it could have problems with language.....or code formatting..
Xp has the ability to install languages.....
I have all languages installed....
All conversion tables installed, all asian installed, you may actually want to install the keyboard.....

Otherwise....something may be wrong with the installer.....or even your cd rom....
I had a cd rom that kept giving me a read error on a specific part fo the disk on every disk....so i swapped that drive out....and guess what....everything worked...
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Default

ok thanks because this geame worked before in russia and doesnt wanna install here...could you give me the site where I could download all the languages becuase it seems that XP didnt do it
DM
__________________

dragonmaster90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.