Error Codes, Ugh! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2008, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Error Codes, Ugh!

I finally finished putting together my computer...

On my first try of starting it it went straight to the LANparty screen then to a black screen with all the info where it asks you to hit F1 to continue or DEL to setup.

The USB keyboard didn't work, but a regular keyboard (the purple circle socket) and the computer read that.

I put in my Vista 64-bit disk, and re-started. It all went well, Vista started to extract/install. I put in my product key it it got to the part where it tells you to restart. This is when it went wrong. It restarted and the screen stayed black and the mobo gave me the code "C1."

I read that C1 had to do with memory so I moved the RAM around.

Now when I start the computer, it gives me the codes C1, then 25, then 26, then it turns off the computer then starts back up again. (This repeats)

Any idea's what might be occurring?

I removed everything but the power cord and monitor and it does the same thing still.


yo1mcool is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
nderscore's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to nderscore
Default Re: Error Codes, Ugh!

First off, make sure all connections are fully connected (includes 24-pin ATX, 4/8pinATX/EPS, 6pin video car) and all expansion cards are fully seated. If all looks good then check the temperatures in BioS (CPU should be around 25-45, NB should be around 40-60).

nderscore is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 10:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Error Codes, Ugh!

Ok, well... I think things have gotten worse.

When I boot up my computer I get these error codes: C1, 25, 26, 33, 2d, 2b, 52, 75, 7F.

What steps can I take to start alleviating the problem?

What's plugged into my Mobo:
- 24 Pin and 8 Pin
- Front Audio
- Front USB
- Hard Drive
- DVD Rom
- Video Card
- Power/Reset/LEDs on the front of case
- CPU Fan

What all can I remove to get rid of variables as to what might be my problem.

My Rig:
Far Cry 2 bugging out on Vista?
yo1mcool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ugh, what did I do?! Matt08642 Linux and Open Source 2 10-26-2007 09:16 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.