Epson TM-T88 printer not printing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default Epson TM-T88 printer not printing

Cant get my receipt printer working.
It says its Not Available. Have installed drivers.
Its connected thru (RS-232) serial port. Is that COM: port?
Need help quite urgently on this matter.

Thanks
__________________

n0gear is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

What version of windows do you use?

did it use to work?

tried turning it off then on?

check the printer queue start>printers and faxes>double click printer

tried rebooting the pc?

looked into device manager to see if the printer is there right click my computer>properties>hardware>device manager, then look in ports and printer check its there. Do you see any yellow '!' marks?. Also have you made sure windows is up to date.

Update motherboard drivers.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Also, make sure the print spooler service is started. It should start automatically (if you use windows) but sometimes it stops and has to be restarted.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Got the printer being in Ready at printers and faxes. managed to print from the notepad, but could never print the test page.

and now its back to being not available

loosing my mind
n0gear is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

well its back in Ready.
Nothing in Device manager though.
Got XP and fully updated.
n0gear is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

everytime i try to print CPU usage jumps to 100%. spoolsv takes all the
resources...normal?
n0gear is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

try uninstalling the drivers and then downloading the latest ones from the website, once installed reset the computer.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.