Emachine won't start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Emachine won't start

I have a emachine t2040 witha celeron 2 ghz cpu that wont start when i push the power switch the fan on the power supply starts the fan on the cpu runs for 4 to 8 sec then stops i can hear the hd runing and thats it no lights on the key board and a black screen . need to know were to start can anyone help
__________________

pfwh89 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to TheGr8schlotzky
Default

i can tell your problem right away : Emachines...lol

Sounds like your motherboard may not be getting any power? check all the connectors and make sure they are secure as far as the cpu fan running for a little, that could mean a short somewhere on the board possibly?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P4S800D-X
1.5GB Corsair DDR400
ASUS N6600 256MB
3.4 (OC\'d) P4 w/HT [3.0E]
160GB WD
600W Aspire PSU
17in LCD
TheGr8schlotzky is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

I was thinking motherboard as well.

Don't knock eMachines... they are pretty good as far as pre-built go.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

seems to be the motherboard. could be the power supply so try another psu if possible. but the motherboard must be getting power if the cpu fan spins up. reset cmos and see if that does anything.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I think it sounds like a motherboard problem too. And I agree with Trotter on the emachine front. They're pretty good for pre-builts.
Shannon is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

well i ruled out the psu and hard drive that leves the mother board. the only problem is emachine dose not have the parts .can I use an after market board?,I have a celeron 2 ghz 400fsb ,845gl chipset. will I need a special reeboot disk ? the one that came with the computer is and xp reboot combo on a cd disk.
pfwh89 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

You'll have to reinstall Windows and all of your programs once you get the mobo hooked up, I'm afraid.

Look for a microATX mobo. Since you're having to buy a new one, make sure that you get one with all the bells and whistles!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I hate to break this news to you but it may not just be the mobo. The fact that you get no led signal form the keyboard may indicate either a bad mobo or CPU or both! Did you run this system overclocked?? what happened just prior to the system not powering on? Did you shut it down and then nada or did the system power off during operation? Bad smells emit if it powered down?

When you power up the system, does the cpu heat sinc continue to run? Is the hard drive spinning? I would pull everything off that mobo, reseat just the cpu wiht new thermal paste, cpu fan, one stick of memory and the video card (no other peripheral including the hard drive) and see if you get keyboard leds to blink and the preboot beep. Try that first before you start spending any money. If it will power on ten I will help you to check the voltages and potential ground voltage leaks from the mobo.

A dead system can be cause by a bad pheripheral device such as a sound card or even the video card if it is shorted. You can try the cpu and memory only boot (you will bet the one long two short beeps form the bios indicating that the video card is missing but if it will power on that id good news, Then you simply start adding stuff until the sytem fails to boot. OK?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default

I had a problem similar to this, I just beat it up and it worked.
__________________

homeslicezero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.