E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2010, 08:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

You just smack it on your flash drive, and allow BIOS to find it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:17 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

You mean Q-Flash?
would I need to change any boot options or whatever?
Can it go wrong?
If something goes wrong, Is my mobo screwed or there's something I can do?
Thanks again, I appreciate your help.
__________________

Skorpian is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:42 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

Skorpian, calm down.

Q-Flash is a flashing program within BIOS. That is what I was referring to.
You only need to update the BIOS, no pre-configurations. Your BIOS would just set to defaults once upgraded, anyhow.
Nothing will go wrong.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:46 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

I'm calm. Maybe the series of questions made you feel I'm nervous but I'm actually not. I just wanted to post in a series of questions to be clear and organized.
Thanks for your help. I'll try that soon and see how it goes.
Skorpian is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 09:09 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

Maybe it's just that it was clumped together
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:59 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

before I perform the update, ( I didn't perform it yet, didn't want to perform it late at night yesterday )
In the website, it says 945PL-S3P ( rev 6.6 ), I'm not sure if mines is rev 6.6
Here's a pic from CPU-Z
Is it my mobo? I've not seen any other rev so this might be my mobo.
thanks.
Skorpian is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:12 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

945PL-S3P is your model. The rev isn't showing up, right of your model number. I am unsure why.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:19 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

Doesn't this mean that that bios might not be okay for my motherboard?
Skorpian is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:32 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

From what I read your motherboard has to be version 6.6 if it boots with a Core 2 Duo cpu, which it does, so it is.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:36 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: E8400 3.00 GHz CPU running @ 2.4 GHz only

That will not limit you. The rev should not matter. As long as you have the correct model number. If you have the incorrect BIOS update, Q-Flash will tell you so.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New i7 920 D0; Used E8400 Nubbleet Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 11-05-2009 12:14 AM
E8400 Oc molsen Overclocking and Modding 15 01-13-2009 07:15 PM
Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck. stb1swat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 09-23-2008 01:05 AM
e8400.. who wants one!! NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 36 03-28-2008 09:11 PM
1.55v++ E8400 RyanWhitell Overclocking and Modding 49 03-06-2008 08:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.