dx diag does not detect any of my hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2012, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

hey guys, just fixing my wife's old computer (i mean really old), i have just reinstalled xp and nothing is being detected, she cant find any of her driver disks, and the network adapter isn't working. normally i would go into dxdiag and find out the hardware and dl the drivers on another machine, but dxdiag isn't detecting anything. if anyone can help me that would be great. thanks
__________________

highelve0065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

Just look up the model on the manufacturer's website, and download all of the drivers and see which ones install / which ones don't.

What's the brand / model of the computer?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

a custom built one from a custom pc building place that she got before she met me. i don't recognize any of the parts, it still uses ide cables for the hard drives.
highelve0065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

Open the case up and look at the model number. Should be printed near the PCI ports.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

Like MoM said open it up and physically look at it. It should have a brand / model number printed somewhere on the board.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

thanks for the help guys, we ended up find the old driver disks so were all good now, i did open it up and there so much dust its kinda melted onto the pcb and covers almost everything. i think its time for a new computer for her. thanks anyways guys.
highelve0065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 02:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: dx diag does not detect any of my hardware

It'd be a good idea to get rid of the dust. Use canned air, or an air compressor (make sure there's no moisture in the tip before you start using it, though). Dust is a real killer to computers: insulates unneeded heat.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auto detect hardware ubuntu _Underscore Linux and Open Source 5 04-22-2010 10:49 AM
how do i disable the Detect New Hardware Wizard ?? kildemauhl Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 01:12 PM
Detect New Hardware Wizard changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-30-2007 02:26 AM
pc won't detect any hardware at all bonehelm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-03-2006 01:59 AM
Need a way to detect my systems hardware. Blackecho Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-20-2004 11:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.