DVR-K12RA not reading discs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Question DVR-K12RA not reading discs

I have Clevo laptop model D470V, it is running windows xp service pack 2, pentium 4 2.8GHz with 1 GB ram, pioneer dvd-rw DVR-K12RA

when a disc is inserted (can be any data disc) you can use my computer to view the contents of the disc. but when the disc is ejected the computer still displays the data, if another disc is inserted the computer wont read the new disc, it will just keep displaying the same data until you reset the computer.

the discs have been tried in another computer and they work fine.

has anyone ever encounted this sort of problem, and does anyone know how to fix it?
thanks
__________________

PYROLUKE is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

You may want to go into the properties of the ide controllers and make sure DMA if available is set on all of the controllers.
__________________

__________________
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 04:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

thanks, that worked a treat.
PYROLUKE is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

well it did work a treat untill it stopped working after about a day it reverted back to the same old trouble. i checked the settings and it is still working in PIO mode. maybe i need to upgrade the cable for the ide drive to the 80 pin. is it a similar cable to pc as is for laptops?
also i reinstalled the drive and then still ad the same problem.

maybe i need to buy a new drive
PYROLUKE is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 04:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Ok my assumption is you used a third party Program to disable AUtostart on cds... Lemme find a guide for this.
\
make sure
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\CDRom is set to 1
and right click on a cd rom drive,
then go to properties. Configure auto run from the autoplay tab.
if you want it off.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 02:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

no third party programs as far as i am aware, in the registry the auto run is set to '1'. and auto run is set to "prompt me" is the properties. but instead of it prompting me, it just auto opens the first data cd loaded, all other cd's or dvd's appear as the first disc.
PYROLUKE is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 40
Default

thats weird dont know what would be causing something like that
__________________

Nvidia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.