DVI Not working on GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2007, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default DVI Not working on GPU

Do you have to enable something for DVI to work on GPUS, cuz I have a VGA port to on my card that I use,,, but if I plug in the DVI one from my LCD it dont turn on... Because isnt DVI like way better?
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

It's not way better. It's marginally better, but it's not noticeable, really. Plug it in the DVI port, and reboot.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

nothing... oh well getting new gpu today anyway hopefully it fix's =] cuz both ports are DVI =/
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

It's definately noticeable on a large monitor, i can tell the difference between the vga and dvi on my 20". The dvi port on the monitor quit working and i had to use the dvi>vga adapter on the video card so i could use the vga input on the monitor, and there is a definate difference. As far as video cards with both vga and dvi out im not sure how that works. Every card i have ever had has either been single vga out or dual dvi out.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
It's definately noticeable on a large monitor, i can tell the difference between the vga and dvi on my 20". The dvi port on the monitor quit working and i had to use the dvi>vga adapter on the video card so i could use the vga input on the monitor, and there is a definate difference. As far as video cards with both vga and dvi out im not sure how that works. Every card i have ever had has either been single vga out or dual dvi out.
What's the difference between DVI and D-sub, veedubfreak?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

There really is no noticeable difference between DVI and VGA unless you are running very long cables.

DVI sends a digital signal so there's no degradation in signal quality over the length of the cable....VGA is analog so if you have a very long cable you might notice some loss in image quality.

VGA is just fine for those of us that have our monitors less than a meter or two away from our puters.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

I guess gurusan explained it. Was just wondering since veedubfreak was talking about it, but he didn't give an explanation.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

Sorry, actually had some help desk calls to attend to. Its been busy today. I'm not really sure what the difference is, i just know i can see the difference. Maybe its placebo affect but i prefer the way the dvi out looks compared to the dvi>vga adapter. The adapter also might be part of my problem in seeing a difference.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

VGA is old really old
Nick is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 06:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: DVI Not working on GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
VGA is old really old
Oh yes it is. :laughing:
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wired LAN no longer working... lazer_viking Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 06-11-2007 07:00 PM
New Sony DVD's Not Working kfc469 New Technology and Products 2 05-28-2007 11:39 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.