DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

I was looking at getting the XFX GeForce 8600 GT XXX graphics card. It has two DVI connections and one s-video connection. I have a Sony flat screen monitor that only allows VGA hook-up. If I install the graphics card but hook up my monitor to the VGA port do I still benefit from the better graphics card (when playing games) or do I need to get a DVI monitor?

Thank you,
Taco
__________________

tacojoethethird is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

the 8600gt is a dupe card either get the radeon x1950 or 8800gts 320mb. VGA doesn't limit the power of the graphics card it is just the cabling it vga will work fine although you may want to buy a dvi monitor soon afterall vga is a slowly dying technology everything is going digital now
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

The 8600 will work for me... I'm not a hard-core gamer but I need something good enough, ya know? Not to mention I don't have a ton of money to spend. But thanks for the reply!
tacojoethethird is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

the 8600gt is a dupe card it is not worth the money even if your not a gamer the supposed hd benefits for a home theatre is rridled with errors, the gaming graphics performance is not comparable to other graphics cards in the same price range it is supported by its dx10 functionality alone and dx10 games aren't even out yet it is a dupe card worthless
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

so you would recommend the 8800 gts?

it looks like it'd take up 2 expansion slots...
tacojoethethird is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

umm, any card will come with a converter, you might experience some ghosting, I did, but You'll probably be fine.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 12:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

The 8800 does take 2 slots and I don't have the room for it.

Anyways, thanks everyone for the help.

-Post closed-
tacojoethethird is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

people what dont take our advice....
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 02:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacojoethethird View Post
The 8800 does take 2 slots and I don't have the room for it.

Anyways, thanks everyone for the help.

-Post closed-
really you don't have two slots??? most modern boards come with an extra large gap infront of the pci-e x16 slot to allow for the larger cards
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: DVI graphics card + VGA Monitor ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
really you don't have two slots??? most modern boards come with an extra large gap infront of the pci-e x16 slot to allow for the larger cards
i have a card in the pci1 slot (below the pci-e x16) and there is a small card above the the pci-e x16 slot but it's not hooked into the pci-e x1 slot... there is a cord that connects it to the tv out slot though. it has tv out ports on it so basically i have 2 sets of tv out ports and in theory i could take the above one out.

my friend bought 2 of the 8600's cause he was going to do the whole SLI thing or whatever, but never did. He sold me one, brand new, un-opened for 100 bucks. I literally don't have enough for the 8800 which i've been finding for 299.
__________________

tacojoethethird is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Extra graphics card Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-23-2007 09:55 AM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.