Dvi Cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2009, 01:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Dvi Cable

I havn't hooked it up yet but I couldn't help but think there is something wrong with it.
I couldn't find any pictures of the same cord. Is this cord missing pins?

It came with my XFX Radeon 4890.

Here's a pic.

Drumfreakx is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dvi Cable

Yes and no. All the pins are not there but not all of the pins are required. I would plug it in and give it a shot.

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 02:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,050
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Dvi Cable

I've never seen a DVI with that many pins missing. Like hefe said though, give it a try anyway. I guess if you don't get anything on the monitor you'll know what the problem is
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dvi Cable

The 4 pins and flat on the left side are the only thing that transmit digital. The other pins are for transmitting analog(in the event that you were to use an adapter for a vga monitor). So yet it should work just fine.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Dvi Cable

I'm going to give it a try tonight when my dvd drive comes in the mail so my rig will be complete. Hopefully all goes well. I'm going to have to use a converter. My monitor plug in is also dvi.
Drumfreakx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvi to vga cable isent working when its connected through my laptop to monitor mikexmmm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-13-2009 03:09 AM
dvi to hdmi cable or hdm cable with dvi adaper NYbadboy911 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-30-2009 11:17 AM
using HDMI TO DVI cable NYbadboy911 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-26-2009 12:51 PM
good dvi cable wafflehammer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-27-2008 02:29 PM
Need to buy a DVI cable Shafra System Upgrades 3 09-20-2007 09:12 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.