DVD-Rom Icons disappeared from everywhere - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2006, 07:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Default DVD-Rom Icons disappeared from everywhere

Hi all, hope someone can help, i'm having a problem with my DVD-Rom & DVD-RW drives being recognised by my PC. When I click on My Computer they have disappeared, they are not being recognised in the system information folder either, any help would be appreciatted, cheers, Kets

prank5ter is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

did you add one of the drives when they disappeared? if they disappeared that most likely means at least one of them has failed, they have been installed incorrectly or the cable connecting them to the motherboard has worked its way loose

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12

No, they have both been in the pc since I've had it, the lights are coming on on the front of them and they both open, I'll check the connection to the motgerboard though, thanks.
prank5ter is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Matt08642's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272

The same thing happened to me, and some tech support guy gave me a fix for it. Sorry, forget what it was, but it had to do with a wrong version of daemon tools.
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Make sure you don't have the jumpers in the back of the drives set to CS (cable select) make the burner the master and the other the slave. This is pretty common if you have them set to CS, That's why don't ever use CS!
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533


jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.