DVD-ROM Drive not Recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default DVD-ROM Drive not Recognized

I decided to take out my cd-rom drive and upgrade to a dvd-rom drive. I plugged it in, just put the cables into the back of the dvd-rom drive that were in the cd-drive, (newegg didn't send me a cd or any cables, just the drive). So I boot up my computer and go into my computer, only see floppy drive and burner (E Drive). My dvd-drive has power, but when I put a disc in, nothing happens. Do I need to go into bios or install some drivers, if so, anyhwere online I can find them?

It is this dvd-rom drive:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827101131
__________________

go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Check the jumpers....is it set on master, slave, cable select? Also make sure the cables are connected properly.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default

Pretty sure it is on master, but I will check again.
go_sharks86 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

look at how your old drives jumbers were set and set the new drive the same. If that does not work try both drives on cable select.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
go_sharks86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to go_sharks86
Default

Switching them to cable select worked, thanks.
go_sharks86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.