DVD drive does not recognize blank DVD's - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 04:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Jumpers are set correctly. I change the IDE cable but still have the same results. I did try finding it via NERO but it treats them as CD-R and when you start burning you get an erro message.

As for the mother board I downgraded to the original BIOS and still no luck. Looks like we are all stumpped.
__________________

cas146 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 05:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Bad IDE controller most likely. Good excuse to get a new mobo I say.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Nooo, not my motherboard. It can't be more than 2 yr's old. I thought ASUS was one of the best MoBo companys.
cas146 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 01:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

They are, but they're not perfect. If you happen to have a spare mobo you can get your hands on then I would try your burners on those just to check. My old board was an ASUS and it was crap, kept getting random reboots and stuff, in fact I had problems with the IDE channel on my old board, the board would randomly freeze and on reboot it wouldn't detect the hard drives.

One last thing to try is to clear the CMOS and reset your BIOS and see if that helps.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 04:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, I reset the BIOS so far the same things are happening except that I can see the blank DVD through Nero. Also I'm able to burn DVD'S again. I still can't view any movies but I just installed my old DVD-RW that does not burn DVD's but plays them fine.

Also my new DVD burner won't recognize my DVD games but the old one will so I think I'm just going to keep it this way. Besides you guys say that problems with DVD burners are fairly common so thanks guys.

Oh one more annoying thing. When I start up my computer just before the OS loads I get a screen to choose which operating system I want to use. But there are only two choises "Windows XP Pro" and "Windows XP Pro" (I'm not kidding). How can I get rid of this screen? If I choose the first windows XP there is not problem and the computer works fine. I just find this very annoying. Ideas?
__________________

cas146 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.