DVD drive does not recognize blank DVD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Angry DVD drive does not recognize blank DVD's

A few days ago I tried to burn a DVD. However, when I inserted a blank DVD it says "F:\ is not accessible Incorrect function". I've burn DVD's in the past so I was suprised. The DVD drive could still read regular CD-ROM, and DVD movies, and games. I figured that the DVD drive was too old so I figure I would get a new one. So I got a SAMSUNG DVD burnet model: SH-S162L. So when I got it and installed it I still have the smae problem.

I'm completlely lost. I don't know what could be the problem. Does anyone have a clue? Here are my specs:

MoBo-- Asus A8V Deluxe
OS-- Windows XP Pro SP2
RAM-- 1Gig
HD-- 250Gig Hitachi

Thanks,
__________________

cas146 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 03:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I have a Samsung DVD-ROM that doesn't READ dvd's, only CD's.

My guess is that Samsung released a new firmware update that people have to get to resolve the issue.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I dunno I would think that the Samsung DVD-RW would not encounter such problems. Even so I got the latest firmware from Samsung. And I had that same problme with my old DVD-RW and its was a Lite-On brand.
cas146 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

If a firmware update wont help then go into your device manager and uninstall your dvd drive then restart your computer and let windows reinstall the drivers and see if that helps.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

...perhaps it's the brand of media you're using.

Try using another brand.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

1) I tried the unistallation and I was able to play DVD movies for a while but half way through a movie it stalled.

2) It can't be the media I tried blank Sony brand DVD+R and a blank Lite-On DVD-R.

Any ideas?
cas146 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Are your jumpers set correctly? Also, have you tried replacing the IDE cable?
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

No I have not touch the jumpers since I got the computer and back then the DVD-burner was working correctly. I dunno about the IDE cable I tested the the new and old DVD burner on another desktop and it would it work. Do guys beleive that I got a bad DVD burner from the store? But what are the odds that they would have the same problems.
cas146 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Can you see the blank DVD's through a third-party burning program like Nero or Roxio?

Windows Explorer tends to whine and moan when it sees blank DVD's.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

If you have the burners on the same IDE channel make sure you have your jumpers set correctly (one master and the other slave.) Try a different IDE cable. If it still does the same thing with a new cable, I think it might be your motherboard.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.