Dvd-burner problems (wont read or write) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default Dvd-burner problems (wont read or write)

Hey all,

My Pioneer dvr-109 shows up in windows xp pro sp2, but if I put in a cd/dvd it does not autoplay or even load the cd (cant hear it spin).

Specs:
Asus p5v-VM-DH mobo
Windows XP Pro sp2 latest updates
Pioneer dvr-109 set to master
Sony-dvd rom (works fine) set to slave

I have tried setting the sony dvd-rom to master and pioneer to slave but still the same.

The pioneer dvr-109 is reconised under windows, it shows up in my computer.. but just doesnt read discs. Anyone got ideas?
__________________

__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

open it up and clean the laser lens (or lenses if DL) using a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol or windex then use the dry side of Q-tip and whipe it dry

or if that doesnt work:

grease the metal rod(s) that helps the laser to move up and down with motor oil or WD40 (dont put too much!!!!)

i've experienced this in many drives including PS2 and Xbox
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

I dont think it is the laster.. as I dont even hear the cd/dvd spin.
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

does ur other drive work when both plugged in?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

either PS could be toast or ur burner is finished

try using a different 4 pin connector to the drive
or
put both drives to auto in the BIOS or if using one leave the secondary to none
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.