DVD Burner problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default DVD Burner problem

OK, I had a DVD with some files on it that I had burned from a previous computer. I had it so I could still add things to it, though. I put it in my new computer and added some files, the same type as before, and after it finished burning, all the files were gone. Now, I've been doing some video editing, and when I put the video to DVD, it completes the task, but won't play in a DVD player and also, there is nothing on the DVD when placed in a computer. I can back up my store bought DVD's just fine though. What gives? Any ideas?
__________________

Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

have you finalized these disks?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

For the dvd with the files on it, no because I want to keep adding files to it. Also I had no problem seeing these files on my old computer. They even showed up on this computer before I burned the newer files on. I've been using adobe premiere elements for the editing and it finalizes everything for me. I tried to back up one of my dvds, but after it is completed, there is nothing on those discs either.
Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

What file types are you using? VOB?

Last time I tried to make DVD's I got fed up and just used Vista's DVD Creator - it took forever to process but it gave me a nice looking menu and it worked just fine.
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

The 'files' on the one dvd are just back ups of my cell phone photos. I don't know what extension the premiere videos are. Adobe does all that automatically. And the back up dvds burn a .iso.
Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

Try starting over - except don't burn multiple sessions from multiple apps. Finalize each disk each time. I have never trusted unfinalized disks.
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

That would only help explain the picture disc. The other two are entirely seperate discs, and they automatically get finalized, which means useless discs.
Jimmyt05 is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 01:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

oh okay, I was under the impression that you were adding more and more to 1 disk.

Okay... uh... what version of what software are you using to burn what disk? List it out:

1) [machine os] - [software / version] - [contents]
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 03:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmyt05 View Post
For the dvd with the files on it, no because I want to keep adding files to it. Also I had no problem seeing these files on my old computer. They even showed up on this computer before I burned the newer files on.
Right there is the problem.

After adding the new files the disk was not set to be read by any other machine but the one that the disk was burned with. It wasnt set to the point where it could be read by another machine but not finalized so that files could be added still.

This is a common occurrence if you burn a disk in XP and try to access it with Vista.

Did you burn the Movie ISO to disk in ISO format or did you just burn the ISO to disk? that is the main question.

If you access the disk does it show the ISO on there from the PC you burned it on. If so that is where the problem is. ISO is just a format and can not be accessed. You would ahve to Explore teh Disk from My Computer Or Computer in Vista and see the file on there and then copy it back to the PC.

ISO format is a completed format that you cant access and just access certain files from it. You would have to burn the ISO itself to the disk using something like ImgBurn.

I hope you understand what i am trying to say there cause it is hard to explain this without messing with the terms to much.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 04:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: DVD Burner problem

Okay. The picture dvd was made on a vista machine as well. Also, when I first put that disc in my new pc, the files were showing. The movie iso was burned on with dvd decrypter, so that is not the problem. And none of that would explain the problem with premiere elements. When I open the disc in Computer, all of them say 'drag files to add to disc' or something like that. Movie dvds show up okay. I have no clue whats going on.
__________________

Jimmyt05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD burner recognized as CD drive infowarrior45 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-04-2009 05:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.