DVD Burner Master/Slave - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2012, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default DVD Burner Master/Slave

Hi everyone,

I will be building my own computer from scratch soon. However, I do have one question. I have read that when I install my DVD drive, I need to set a switch on it to either 'master' or 'slave.' What do these mean, and which should I use? I have a Sony Optiarc 24x DVDRW Drive and a GIGABYTE GA-Z68AP-D3 Intel Z68 Motherboard as well as a Seagate Barracuda 1TB hard drive, if that helps. Thanks in advance!
__________________

galaxion2 is offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: DVD Burner Master/Slave

Is it SATA or IDE?

If it is SATA, you need no jumpers. One drive per SATA cord.

If it is IDE, it is best to put it as slave. With IDE, it has 2 connections per IDE ribbon. So you need to specify which one is master and slave. I just always used CS (Cable Select) where the system automatically detects and assigns them.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 07:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: DVD Burner Master/Slave

It is a SATA drive. So does that mean I just plug the cable into the drive and into the motherboard?
galaxion2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: DVD Burner Master/Slave

Yes, if it is SATA, you need no jumper. One device per SATA cable.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master/Slave Mr Nemesis666 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 11-04-2006 03:51 PM
HDD master, DVD-ROM slave? Kray Overclocking and Modding 4 07-30-2005 11:05 AM
dvd rom and cdrw which master which slave forlorn_ronin Overclocking and Modding 3 04-03-2005 10:13 AM
Master to slave, slave to master question texas_law Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 12-19-2004 11:37 AM
? about IDE HDD and Dvd-rom, Primary/secondary/master/slave Jeffrock Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-03-2004 07:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.