DVD Burner help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default DVD Burner help please

Is it possible for a dvd-burner to burn dvd's fine, but have trouble reading them ...but mostly other burned dvds? Store bought movies, etc. work fine ...but when I try to view my backed-up dvd's ...even burned from another dvd burner from another computer... they have trouble.

It's a NEC burner. I bought it new maybe 3-4 months ago and it has always had this problem ...but I missed out on the RMA process so now I am stuck with it. Thing is ...I don't mind keeping it if it is actually burning them properly and reading them wrong.

Any thoughts?
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Get a cheap DVD reader? Most are dual-layer CD-R/RW+DVD reader, and you can find a Sony one on Newegg for around 20 bucks USD.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

try updating the drivers for it, or maybe a cleaning dvd to clean the reading heads
travis22 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Snake-eye's - if it comes down to me buying another i'll just get another burner and make sure to test it out early incase i need to go through the rma process.

travis - cleaning dvd i could try, though it has always had this problem from when i unwrapped it. i dont know how to check for new drivers though.
Midnight is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

drivers will do squat,, try updating its firmware,, look up the model on necs site
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Ok, thanks. However, the question still remains unanswered
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.