DVD Burner drive laser is visible through lid!

Status
Not open for further replies.

taste

Beta member
Hi,

I am a newbie here and this is my first post, but I have an unusual hardware issue and I'd like some feedback please to see if this situation is normal.

I have just bought a Samsung DVD burner drive (I purchased a Samsung Writemaster SH-S223C/BEBE SATA though the label on the drive lists it as a SH222AB/BEBE).

The drive seems to function ok, but when I press the button to close the drawer, with no disc in the drive, you can see the red laser beam actually (briefly) shining through the label on the top cover of the drive (while checking to see if a disc is present)!

Please see the picture below (I apologise for the bluriness of the image, but I had to take this shot without flash so you could see it)-

SH222ABBEBE.JPG

[highlight]^Notice the 'red dot' in the centre of the label, about a third of the way up...[/highlight]​

Now my questions are: 1. Is this normal or a fault? 2. Is this dangerous to look at? 3. Does anybody else own this drive and does it behave in the same way?

I have never seen this on a drive before. Admittedly, if you insert a disc in the drive you no longer see it (the disc obviously covers the top of the laser diode).

There is a metal cover on this unit, but is part of it a transparent window (which has a label over the top), or is it just a small gap between two parts of the metal, with the light shining through the chink?

I have sent an enquiry to Samsung support but have had no reply.

I realise that once the drive is fitted inside a case that it may not be visible anyway, and the read beam is low powered, but the burning beam is likely to be much stronger so I'm a little concerned... Maybe though, I'm just being over paranoid? :suprised:

Thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Mark

It is normal, but, I wouldn't look directly at it...