Dumping Com Port Data onto notepad.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Dumping Com Port Data onto notepad.exe

Client as a point of sales system with an onboard Magnetic Card Stip Reader. The card trip reader is currently connected via Com4. It's used for the point of sales of sales software in to register VIP customer.
The card reader is replacing the need of a keyboard. So normally if you swipe the card, you will be able to get what ever data that is on the magnetic strip to come out on notepad.

Currently this is connected via COM4. I need the data that is coming from COM4 to be able to show up on a notepad document. Is there anyway via changing com port settings or registries keys in where we can get COM port data to come out on notepad.exe.


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Dumping Com Port Data onto notepad.exe

Harper, you may have a low chance of getting this to work, but I think I maybe to get you one step further to your answer.
Assuming you are using vista/7, hit start, go to my computer right click and hit device manager.
Navigate to your COM port lists, and hit properties, if anything is not greyed out change what port number you need.
Since I dont have enough knowledge about business card readers, you should be able to do some magic in there and get it to work.
If not, I would seek advice from saxon, he might be familiar with it and can get you a clear answer.
-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Are CCC.Exe, Atiedxx.exe, Atiesrxx.exe, Mom.exe And CLIStart.exe? Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-07-2010 07:11 AM
Replace Windows Notepad with Notepad++ v5.0 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-11-2008 09:50 AM
explorer.exe uses port 8081 advancedgeek Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-23-2008 08:37 AM
Send data through parallel port real_in Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-01-2007 02:39 PM
Notepad.exe & Notpad.exe - Windows XP Pro SP1 Knowledge Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-15-2004 02:16 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.