Duel Booting... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2008, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Duel Booting...

Alright so i got vista on one harddrive and XP on another they both came with two seperate computers, i've decided to take out the XP HD and put it into my VISTA computer plugged it in, and i went into boot menu and picked boot form that XP HD and it didnt even get to the XP loading screen, it just got BSOD and rebooted itself, but my Vista HD is working perfectly fine. So im just wondering what could cause this?


MY XP harddrive was in another computer working just fine i just tried to plug and play without tweaking nothing. So Im cerious if i gotta tweak anything?

Thanks.
__________________

AtLeast320GB is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Duel Booting...

The cause is that it was in another computer. You need to use your XP CD and do a repair install on that hard drive.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Duel Booting...

Hello,

CVB is right. The hardware profile that XP has on file is not the same one that matches the PC that it is in now. So it BSOD's right away. You have to either repair that install or format and fresh install.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 07:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Duel Booting...

also you will probably have to reactivate the XP install too. since it will sense it is on different hardware.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Duel Booting...

That's right. Good to point that out networkgeek.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Duel Booting...

Re-activating is a simple task tho.... Call into M$ if it doesnt do it online, tell them you had to reformat your HDD and need to reactivate...put in about 40 numbers...and you're good. Takes about 10 minutes =P.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Duel Booting...

Only if it's legit . These days no one knows what is or isn't! Not even Microsoft hehe.

Oh and it's spelled dual. Sorry you guys already know I'm stickler for spelling .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Duel Booting...

Haha wow thanks guys i never thought i would get so much help ill do that rightaway
AtLeast320GB is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Duel Booting...

lol yeah we usually go on rants together like this. You'll get used to it . Most of the time it helps them with more than they wanted to know anyway!
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 01:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Duel Booting...

Alright Cool so i got XP To boot on my system and i got genue C-d key and everything right, so now the problem is the Drivers :P I DO got drivers cd that came with my vista cant i just install them directly to the other HD and ill get all the drivers to work?

But the thing about this is i put in the c-d and i got an error? so im just wonderin how i would get the drivers to work for my lan... etc...?
__________________

AtLeast320GB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duel Core Processors Vowen New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-03-2008 10:38 AM
Duel booting xp home and ubuntu 35g700 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-04-2008 03:49 PM
Booting problem smenon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-15-2008 10:46 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Trouble with Booting up NickFas Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-09-2007 04:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.