Dual Monitors... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default Dual Monitors...

So I just set up my dual monitor display on my new rig running Vista 32 bit, and my right, extended monitor goes out. When I turn it off and back on it starts up, stays lit for like 20 seconds then goes black again. They green light stays lit. I had a funny power cable connected to it, so I decided to swap for a known good cable. Still giving me the problem...

Im gonna swap monitors and see if it still happens...

Any ideas? Possibly bad monitor?
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Dual Monitors...

Check that the monitor can handle the refresh rate.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default Re: Dual Monitors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPlAtOiD View Post
Check that the monitor can handle the refresh rate.
Well, they're both set to 75...we have the same models at work and they're set at 75 and we never have problems. We also have worse video cards than I have in my rig...I swapped monitors and confirmed that it is the monitor because I switched it from DVI to VGA and also switched power cable and it still does it. I changed resolutions and messed with refresh rate and it continued to do it.

Time to replace hah
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Dual Monitors...

i would guess its the monitor then.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS (g92) + dual monitors KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 02-26-2008 07:48 PM
Dual monitors in sli? Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 21 01-27-2008 01:09 AM
Dual View Monitors Nitrocrusher Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-27-2007 06:55 PM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM
Dual Monitors and Performance will h4x 4 food New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-17-2007 08:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.