Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2010, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included

Please help me! I've been waiting for this to come in the mail for a week and now it won't work. Thanks so much in advance for anyone that can offer an help.

- Second monitor on dual display does not pick up any signal and just stays black.

- One NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT low profile DVI and HDMI input. It came with two face plates and I used this one. It was a pain putting it on so I would prefer not to switch back to the plate with VGA and DVI. Not even sure I still have it.
- Two Dell S2209W monitors DVI and VGA input on each.

- DVI to DVI on primary monitor.
- HDMI to VGA (via converter) on secondary monitor.

Additional details:
- Both monitors work individually with the video card.
- I have the latest NVIDIA drivers and installed my monitor drivers.
- I am on Windows 7.
- All hardware shows up in device manager. One monitor displays as Analog and one as Digital.
- I have hit the windows key + P to choose Extended for my view.
- In NVIDIA control panel, both monitors display as DVI - PC display (which is wrong since the second monitor is hooked up HDMI to VGA).
- When I click set up multiple displays in NVIDIA control panel, it does nothing. I try to click identify monitor and only the first one responds.

kfink85 is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included

Try doing it in the windows monitor setup. i.e. through the control panel.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included

I don't see any screenshots, but yes, use the Window's settings.
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 59
Default Re: Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included

Make sure the resolution that you have setup for the second monitor matches what your monitor can handle, if it is too high or too low it may not display anything.
Fazza is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Dual monitor set up won't work. PLEASE help!! screenshots included

Have you tried simply restarting your PC with both monitors connect?

This is needed most times in order for your PC to recognize during startup that a second monitor has been connected.
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting dual monitor to work Oreo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-08-2008 10:28 AM
Will Dual Channel work Luke System Upgrades 5 12-11-2007 01:27 PM
Dual Channel, Raid, and Raptor Hard Drives Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-23-2007 02:23 AM
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 08:54 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.