Dual Monitor Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Dual Monitor Problem

Ok, so basically, my T.V is really messed up right now. I use a 19" LCD TV as a dual monitor, and for my xbox (switch inputs). The T.V works fine on my Xbox, and has been working fine since christmas as a dual. But all of a sudden, an inch on the right side of the screen is cut off, and it's blinking from black (not off, just black) to my desktop. I think it might have started when i pressed auto adjust by accident, i forget.

Does anyone know to fix this?

P.s i was told to get up to date drivers on another forum and i did, but it didn't fix it.

MuNNsy is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: glasgow scotland
Posts: 96
Send a message via MSN to joeten
Default Re: Dual Monitor Problem

I'm afraid you haven't quite made yourself clear enough. You said that the screen worked fine with the xbox and pc then developed a problem but is that problem just with your pc or also with the xbox now too?
If the awnser to the above question is yes, then try auto adjust again and if the problem isnt fixed on both send your tv back to the manufacturer.
If the answer is no, check your cables are all firmy seated and that your graphics card is firmly seated. If this still does not fix the problem check the cable for bent pins.
This problem could have been caused by any one of a number of things so im afraid its a process of elimination.

joeten is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Sir Timothy
Tim's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Dual Monitor Problem

Try messing around with your resolutioon in the control panel
Might fix it...
Tim is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Dual Monitor Problem

yeah sorry i wasn't very clear. It works with my Xbox, but not with my PC. And before it was only blinking, but now it is just stuck in auto-adjust. It says Auto-adjusting, then Auto-Adjust OK over and over.

There is no bends in the cable and my card is firm.

Any other suggestions?
MuNNsy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad Vs. Dual ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 12-08-2008 12:38 PM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 12:48 PM
PC locks up within 2-3 minutes after booting using Dual Channel memory. CPZ12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-17-2008 03:09 AM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 10:28 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.