Dual Monitor with 6670? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2012, 04:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default Dual Monitor with 6670?

Hello, I have this graphics card: Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card (11192-22-20G)

Right now I'm using one monitor and it's plugged into the VGA port on the graphics card. I have another monitor here and I want to also hook it up to the card. The monitor only has a VGA port on it and there's no other VGA output in the card. What would I need to buy to do this? I've already tried a VGA to HDMI cable, but the card doesn't detect the monitor.

I also have a DVI to VGA connector I used with my 9600 GT, but it doesn't fit the DVI slot on the card.. (This is the DVI to VGA adapter I tried: Newegg.com - Link Depot DVI-AVGA-ADPT DVI To VGA Adapter)

Is there a DVI to VGA connector that will fit this card?
Thanks!
__________________

boomrq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dual Monitor with 6670?

Your adapter is a DVI-I to VGA. You need a DVI-D to VGA.

Get this: Newegg.com - Rosewill RA-VGA-DVI-D 25pin (24+1) DVI-D Male to 15pin VGA Female Adapter

Look at the connection list on here: Digital Visual Interface - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I think from that you can see why it won't work with your current setup.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 06:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dual Monitor with 6670?

Thank you for the fast reply! I'll order this then. I was looking at it before but saw that it was only rated 2 stars..
boomrq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dual Monitor with 6670?

Its an adapter. All companies that make it use the same thing. The bad comments were probably written by dummies who couldn't read what it is.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dual Monitor with 6670?

Okay, thanks again!
boomrq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Radeon 6670 Talyor System Upgrades 5 12-25-2011 10:59 PM
Non-Dual, Dual Monitor? Solaxys New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-08-2009 02:31 PM
WTB: 19"+ LCD monitor (maybe widescreen?) & dual monitor video card whiteblazer01 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 03-28-2006 01:21 AM
How to turn your dual-monitor PC into a dual mac-PC system Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 3 10-15-2005 08:32 AM
Dual monitor SamBarry Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-01-2005 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.