dual harddrive newbie quest. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default dual harddrive newbie quest.

hi, im a pretty average computer user, not too ignorant nor enlightened. My problem is, i just recently got a new hard drive. i have a dual hard drive configuration however, my slave hard drive isn't showing up on my computer but my boot up one is. I need to access my secondary hard drive for files, how do i?

thanks.

btw both of them are shown in device manager.
__________________

nwbie is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

go into the bios and make sure its detected. It could be that you have them boath set to master or something like that on the same channel. Check your hardware config. I would say put boath harddrives on one idea channel i.e. primary ide. Then make sure the old one is master the new one is slave. Then put the other devices on the secondary channels i.e. cdroms or what ever. That should get it.
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.