dual core and sp2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2007, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default dual core and sp2 Problem

i am new here but have had some experience with pc hardware + software but i have a very puzzling problem and wondered if any of u lot know of anything that could help me.

i have a intel dual core d945 in my pc and ever since i installed windows xp pro service pack 2 my cpu in the task manager it would register as one core working at 100% and the other core working at only 10% do you see my problem. i have tried the hotfix for dual cores and that didnt work so now im stuck with a rather slow pc.

please help.
__________________

elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

can u post a picture of ur task manager were the processes take place
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

here


the program using loads of cpu power says that it is using 50% of the overall power (thats 100% of core 0)
elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

The dual core is there for when your system needs the dual core

So if you have a program that starts to max out your first core then it will kick in the second and release some of the load onto the second core.

What ur seeing there is normal
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 02:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

But it only did it after the installation of windows xp service pack 2. And i prefer it like it was before is there some kind of fix or something i could get.
elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 09:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Take a pic of the processes running so that we may see what process is using CPU time.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

its only a few random programs that i opened that i know use a lot of cpu (splitcam set to desktop view, and firefox playing a cpu intensive game (falling sand) )

why what should i see/look for
elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

what should i look for bcos its fustrating. and i cant wait till microsoft fixes this.
elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Default

hello? kan someone answer?






The-elbow-mans-site
elbow_man is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

contact microsoft and abuse them and tell them that if they dont tell you how to fix it you will personally come down and assassinate bill gates :P
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.