Dual-Booting, somewhat - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in MI
Posts: 9
Default Dual-Booting, somewhat

So i have two hardrives in my case right now. One is connected by a SATA cable and the other is the Master on the "original" cable(i do not remember the name of them). I have XP installed on the SATA hdd and ive installed Vista on the "original" connection hdd. Whenever i boot up to the vista hdd it will restart itself. I have no idea why. could it be the slow speed of the hdd because it is an older hdd? I wasnt able to install any updates because it will restart itself before it installs them. I have no idea to do right now. any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

lipton7 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

is this hdd from a previous pc where it was installed on there but never reinstalled on the pc your trying now. also full system specs are nice try a repair install
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in MI
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

Sry, forgot about the specs, hehe. The HDD was installed from another computer. i had a fresh XP installation on that computer, but i took it out, put it into my computer and reformatted it and put Vista on it.

Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+
650W PSU
EVGA 8800gt 512mb
M2N-SLi Deluxe mobo
4GB memory, 2GB Corsair and 2GB OCZ (Is that a problem to have two different brands of Ram? I have Dual-Channel on my mobo)
anymore specs needed?
lipton7 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

This could be many factors. Could be your BIOS boot priority is set to the SATA Drive and when trying to boot to Vista it fails and reboots cause that is not the primary connection.

Could be that your Vista install has issues that need to be addressed. Can you even get to Vista Safe Mode?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in MI
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

yes, i can get into vista by safe mode, what should i do when i get into it?
lipton7 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

Check the event viewer to see what is going on. If you can get into Vista in Safe Mode then there is a issue with the install that needs to be fixed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in MI
Posts: 9
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

k, ill try that, thnx
lipton7 is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Dual-Booting, somewhat

yeah you should have no problems running vista in an IDE hard drive.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual booting question Gee Wally Microsoft Windows and Software 3 12-02-2008 10:29 PM
Dual Booting Vista and XP blue4paper Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-09-2008 04:36 PM
PC locks up within 2-3 minutes after booting using Dual Channel memory. CPZ12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-17-2008 04:09 AM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Dual booting XP and Windows Vista squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-22-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.