drivers for windows vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2013, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Posts: 9
Default drivers for windows vista

I recently downgraded my home pc from win 7 ultimate to win vista home premium,and this is when the problem started.I have an xbox 360 which i use to stream music and movies from my pc,but when i try to my o/s insists i need to install a specific driver,but as of yet and with a lot of search i haven't found the correct driver,does anyone have any ideas
__________________

NTechR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

Why exactly would you downgrade from Win7 to Vista?

Check your device manager to see which device needs the drivers...
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Posts: 9
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

I down graded as I didn't have the money to pay for 7 ultimate a second time and the driver that i require is for my xbox 360,going thru device manager doesn't help as i have tried that approach numerous times,have even spent a day sifting thru microsft.com support site still to no avail so I thought i would try I.T forums as someone somewhere should be able to help.
NTechR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

I'm not sure how to help you with this problem. I haven't had to mess with vista for a long time. But what do you mean having to pay for windows 7 a second time. You shouldn't have to. Windows Vista is a very problematic OS. It was one of those in between
Os,s kind of like ME. Really not a good system at all. Maybe if you can post the name of the driver I could locate something for you.
sPlAtOiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Posts: 9
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

this is rumour control here are the facts: win7 product keys are only usable once and i moved an lost mine and when i had to do a system rebuild on my pc as i built it initially i didn't have the key to use for the reinstall,so that is why i used vista home premium and whenever i have my pc on now and the xbox gets turned on so one of my kids can play,i get a window open on my pc saying install correct driver which then precedes to not actually load the driver,so what i am asking for is that some one be able to point me in the right direction as to where i might possibly be able to find the right driver to resolve this issue,the driver allows me to use the xbox video player to watch movies that are on my pc,yes i know media centre is on there as well but certain films won't play on windows media centre,predominantly MKV files,and in all honesty i have never had any issues with vista being problematic as I also have it installed onto my laptop.
NTechR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

Next time that pops up, go into Device Manager and find the entry with the yellow flag on it. Post the name of the entry here.

Do this as well: right click the entry > Properties > Details tab > under 'Property', select Hardwar Ids > Post the info that says VEN_####&DEV_####&SUBSYS_####, where the #### is an alphanumeric combination.

We need to know exactly what it's looking for in order to find the "correct driver" for you.

As far as the MKV files... have you tried installing a codec pack? Try K-Lite: Download K-Lite Codec Pack
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Posts: 9
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

UBM\\VEN_0125&DEV_0001&REV_0001
UBM\VEN0125&DEV_0001
this is the information that came up and I hope it helps
NTechR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Posts: 9
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

the device is an XBOX 360
NTechR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

For the MKV file problem, all websites that I download .mkv's from recommend CCCP (Combined Community Codec Pack) http://www.cccp-project.net/;
it combines the codec's that carnagex suggested plus tweaks the settings (automatically) in your player for best playback.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: drivers for windows vista

Have you gone through the standard setup for connecting your xbox
Set up Windows Media Center with Xbox 360 (Windows Vista)- Xbox.com - Xbox.com

Do you have uPNP turned on
How to enable UPnP in Windows.
__________________

Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.