drive space available, inaccurate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2007, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default drive space available, inaccurate

not sure if this should go here or software...but i was using tmpegnc to encode a mpeg to divx...well program hung and i had to close and reboot.now my C shows i have 5gb left , when i had 65gb before then. Raptor 74gb. if i do properties on it, it shows 68gb used , yet if i highlight all folders in C:\ and do it..onlys shows 20gb used, which is right. how do i fix this?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: drive space available, inaccurate

Right Click c:>properties
disk cleanup (next to pie chart)
let it load and a big amount should be in the temp folder
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Re: drive space available, inaccurate

no it only free'd up 300mb
badkitty is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: drive space available, inaccurate

You can use this program: JDiskReport to find out how much space is being used on your drive and where.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Re: drive space available, inaccurate

thanks..but i just reloaded windows anyway. i had done it 3 times in the last day anyway.something gets screwed up everytime. everything fnie now.
badkitty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
lost h drive space after partition and reformat goonerwin1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-30-2007 02:23 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
External Hard drive space issue Thechosenone Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-06-2007 12:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.