Drive in a Raid 0 Volume is Failing, what are my options? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Mitsu3kGTVR4
Question Drive in a Raid 0 Volume is Failing, what are my options?

I'm new to using a Raid setup, and so far it seems to be pretty fast. It's been running fine for about 2 weeks, but a message just popped up "A drive in a Raid 0 volume is failing."

I'm running 2 80 gig Seagate 7200's, Vista 64, and Intel 975xbx2kr.

When I check the main volume for both drives the status says normal, but when checking each individual hard drive the one on port one has a status of "error occurred"

Anyone know what to check for here? Is this a software or hardware issue? And how can I resolve this?
__________________

Mitsu3kGTVR4 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Hard Drive health (HDD) is a program you can download, that will inform you of a Drives SMART Status. Which is Hardware. The only thing you can do is backup important information regularly and continue to use it. If a Drives dies you will either have to use the other by itself or buy another Drive.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Mitsu3kGTVR4
Default

i tried HDD health but i don't think it recognizes Raid drives, it sees my other 2 hard drives fine but it doesn't show anything for the Raid drives, just shows they're there.
Mitsu3kGTVR4 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Hrmm Interesting. Speed Fan also has a SMART Indicator Program you can try that.

You can also run chkdsk from cmd prompt.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 07:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Mitsu3kGTVR4
Default

tried chkdsk but didn't have any luck. i think it might be the actual hard drive, although everything seems to be working fine, i noticed the bios screen reports one of the raid hard drives has an error... i think i'm going to try and format both drives, reinstall windows, and if that doesn't fix it it's probably the actual hard drive.
Mitsu3kGTVR4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.