downloading times - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Question downloading times

hey guys im wondering if getting around 160 kb/s on sbc yahoo dsl is good while downloading. the thing is, my friends internet was 1500 kb/s so i was like wth. thanks for any replies there are. -charlie
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Well, it depends on what speed your dsl is.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Default

I got 1.5 DSL I download at 200kbs
SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Could be your distance to the central office. He's closer to his, and you are further to yours...just a guess...
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpoiledBoar
I got 1.5 DSL I download at 200kbs
****!
what ISP are you with?
i get 160kb/s from my 1.5m/b connection.
cant really complain with that.
__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

I've got 2.2mb and I can download at anything from 10kb/s to 250kb/s, I thought it depended on the website that your downloading from. btw I live in the UK, don't know wether that makes a difference.
__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/

Go there, in the middle of the page there is a free speed test. You will have to enter the type of connection you have and the state you live in and it will run a short test and give you the average speed in your area on that connection and you can see how you rate. I just ran the test and scored 3.3 mb per second on Comcast cable right out side of chicago. But metro is right the speed at which you download something is not a true test of your speed since you can only download as fast as a perticular site or server will allow and other factors like how busy the server is all effect the DL speed.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to drum_man1952
Default

I ran that same test and received a 3.9 here at Batesville MS on Cableone. It's about time CableOne!!
drum_man1952 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

That bandwidthplace test really sucks, its test only uses a 1MB file and with today's connections its impossible to get an accurate reading on it. Try www.testmy.net or www.speakeasy.net/speedtest

And 160 KB/sec is good if you have a 1.5M connection, which I think is the speed of the value connection from SBC (or it might be 384K, but im not sure).
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I have 8mb/s. I download at 1.3mbp/s depending on the host.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.