A Doozy Of A Problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation A Doozy Of A Problem...

Alright, this is kind of complicated, so bear with me if you will.

I'll start by saying this problem started happening when I began playing Counter-Strike: Source (A pretty demanding game regarding the work of the computer). After random amounts of time (within 30 minutes), the computer would go into a "standby" like mode. The monitor light would turn orange and I would have to restart manually.

I obviously thought it was the game, but the other, easier (on the computer) games were going into this "standby" mode. And eventually it would even go into "standby" on desktop!

If that wasn't enough, some games now have a VPU recover message popping up A LOT, other games have it popping up but not as often. The message said the VPU recover reset my graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands. Sometimes after the message popped up a couple times another message popped up saying it reset both my hardware and software and to reset my computer. After restarting, it kept happening again.

Also, a couple times after restarting my computer after going into "standby" this message popped up: http://oca.microsoft.com/en/response...fce23a&SID=802

So I look into it on some forums on the internet (forums of the game that started it), and they suggest it's a power supply issue, so I suggest this to my computer tech, and he says we might as well try it, since they took my computer in previously and suggested it was simply because the games were on my secondary hard drive and couldn't find various files, but the games were on my primary hard drive, so that wasn't the problem.

So the new PSU was installed, and I had my hopes up. I played the game and it still went into standby and had the various VPU recover errors.

After the new PSU was installed a couple things changed. One time when playing an easier (on the computer) game, the computer went into "standby" and came out, except it was frozen on the screen it was at before going on "standby", and it went between that and a green with a whole bunch of "messed up colors" screen.

Another problem after installing the new PSU was that playing the tough (on the computer) game, the game froze with skipping sounds for a couple seconds and then went to a blue screen, where I had to restart.

Here's the summary of the problems:

Before new PSU:
-VPU recover error
-standby problem on all games and desktop
-video driver error after restarting after standby problem

After new PSU:
-all previous problems mentioned above
-frozen screen with skipping sounds and the screen turned blue
-standby problem but came out, went to frozen screen of screen it was at before the problem occured, also went to a "messed up color" screen

I'm not a computer guy so when attempting to diagnose the problem, please include why it may have happened, why it causes the problems it does, and what must be done to fix it, for my sake please.

Any feedback is appreciated.
__________________

Testingzors is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I've seen these problem before, it also happens to me. Before I can help you provide me with your specification like motherboard, CPU, RAM, etc...

I know your video card is at fault, because I dealt with these issue alot. From reading that link I am assuming you have an ati graphic card? This issue can be resolve by turning off the 8x agp speed feature in your display properties and turning off fastwrite. Also turn off fastwrite in BIOS. I hope this work for you.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

Maybe...it could be your graphics card...but if its going into standby from desktop... it maybe your PIC-*now that would be fun*(sarcasm)

Its unlikely but you could check it out.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Sounds like a problem I'm having. Graphics card is locking up and losing output to monitor. Have to reset.

Rest of the computer carrys on regardless, just no graphics output.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

exactly what i thought. could be the card is overheating. try another graphics card if you can
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i have had something like that happen to me, i was running
3Dmark03, computer stopped, blue screen, turn off computer...couldnt turn back on. It was my power supply. i had it replace in no time.
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

I would think if the power supply went the rest of the computer would shut down. Is this what is happening?

How dusty is your system?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Maybe I missed it but I dont think you mentioned updating the drivers... or if you did that, rolling back to an old ati driver. I had an issue like that also the exact same vpu recover message. Try the latest driver, if that doesnt work try an older but still fairly new driver. You dont always need the "latest" video card driver sometimes when they come out with a new one it doesnt work very well with some systems.
mikeaaronc is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Alright I'll attempt to answer all the questions in one post.

The PSU was just replaced, so I doubt it's a power supply issue...although maybe I received another bad one? I doubt it.

Windows and the ATI graphics card (radeon 9600) are all upgraded, and I have tried going back to an older driver for the graphics card with no avail.

My system is only 3 months old, it's top of the line without going out and buying parts seperately and assembling it yourself. (So basically what I'm saying is the specs aren't the issue)

I doubt it's overheating, I have one fan always on, and another bigger one kicks on every once in a while.

I'm going to attempt to turn off fastwrite and I'll post with my results.
Testingzors is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
I've seen these problem before, it also happens to me. Before I can help you provide me with your specification like motherboard, CPU, RAM, etc...

I know your video card is at fault, because I dealt with these issue alot. From reading that link I am assuming you have an ati graphic card? This issue can be resolve by turning off the 8x agp speed feature in your display properties and turning off fastwrite. Also turn off fastwrite in BIOS. I hope this work for you.
Perfect!

I turned off fastwrite and turned off agp (from 8x).

Thank you so much for the suggestion.

Couple last things...does this mean the graphics card was overheating? And should I buy a new graphics card? (not ATI). And what are the disadvantages of playing without fastwrite and agp off?

Thanks!
__________________

Testingzors is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.