dont know how to fix this - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default dont know how to fix this

my monitor(or whatever it is) has an extremely greenish tint to it. could this be because my retarded cat chewed the cord? i tried to change the tint but that wouldnt do anything.
__________________

redfordkiller is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

check your video card settings
__________________

thayde1 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

how?
but the thing is thati was gone for 3 days and we had a thunderstorm while we were gone and it was fie before that.
redfordkiller is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

IF RUNNING WINDOWS...right click on desktop, click properties, click settings, then click advanced...then u should be able to change color and etc. somewhere depending on your graphics card. as for the storm, im not too sure....but it is possible it screwed up your video card.
thayde1 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i did that and tried to change the colors but that didnt do anything
redfordkiller is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

lol now i want somebody to slap me because i just unscrewed the bolts holding the monitor cord then screwed them back in and its perfect
redfordkiller is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

That was the suggestion I was going to make... disconnect and reconnect both ends of the cable.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

same here...then i was gonna say degause
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Go to the BIOS screen, if the problem shows up in the bios, it is the monitor. If it does not, then it is the computer. Most likey the video card.
If it is the computer, check video setting, try enabling VGA mode, do a power drain on the computer. Uninstall and resintall the display adapter. Look for update.
If it is the monitor, do a power drain. Reseat the setting to factory. If that does not fix it, I would change the monitor. Hopefully helps you.
Locutus is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

read the previous posts. hes fixed it
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.