Doesn't power on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2008, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Doesn't power on

A friend unplugged the 20+4 pin mobo power connector and removed his secondary IDE harddrive (somewhat clumsily) after we installed a new SATA drive. I'm pretty sure the PSU's power switch was on during this process. Now when you hit the power button there's not even a fan twitch. Is his mobo screwed?
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Doesn't power on

Did you at least unplug the PSU's power cord from the computer? I would recomend you always do that before swapping any hardware. Is there a primary IDE drive other than the new SATA? If so, make sure the jumper is set correctly. If still no power, then it is possible that static could have zapped the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: Doesn't power on

If you can get your hands on a PSU tester, check the PSU to make sure that everything is working properly with it. I've had power supplies die on me fairly randomly.
AngeloR is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Doesn't power on

I know to hit the switch or unplug it before making changes, and I always do. Unfortunately my friend (probably) didn't do this. We checked the jumpers and everything, but that's not even the problem. The fans don't even twitch when you hit the button.

And thanks, I'll have him test his PSU next.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Doesn't power on

I would triple check all of the connections. Like the case cables for the power buttons and the power supply to the proc and mobo.
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Doesn't power on

I quadruple checked 'em
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Doesn't power on

Does the motherboard have a standby LED? If so does it light? Try unplugging the power cord for 15 seconds then plug it back in.

This worked on one power supply I had. Hold the power button on for longer then 10 seconds and then press it again. The supply must of had a safeguard to prevent nuking the motherboard.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Doesn't power on

It has an LED but it doesn't turn on. He tried unplugging it, but with no luck.

I'll have him try your other suggestion, but I have the feeling his mobo is fried.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Doesn't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg View Post
It has an LED but it doesn't turn on. He tried unplugging it, but with no luck.

I'll have him try your other suggestion, but I have the feeling his mobo is fried.
Or the power supply. The light should be on. Trying another power supply is a lot less hassle then getting a new motherboard and finding out there's nothing wrong with the old one.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: Doesn't power on

so nothing at all works on it?
__________________

nastsystems is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.