Does SP2 have better USB support? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Does SP2 have better USB support?

Hi all,
I just got a new USB card reader and a replacement and both are very temperamental in when they decide to work or see cards put into it, often giving I/O errors.
I use XP SP1 and basically i need to know if Windows XP SP2 has better support for card readers that would fix this like the sellers tell me. The thing is i dont want to install SP2 for various reasons.
Ive got the latest USB drivers for the motherboard (SiS 748 chipset) and as far as i can see everything looks good system wise.

thx
__________________

Shriker is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I find USB does work better in SP2, with no service packs at all, It was giving me errors with my USB. Stuff like (You are plugging in a USB 2.0 device in a USB 1.1 Port) and stuff like that.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I also agree there is better USB protocol with SP2, as much as i dont like the service pack, unfortunatly it's become another one of those thing's that are needed. unless you run Linux.
I also have problems with the USB card and my onboard USB, i get a lot of IRQ's. but my mobo wont allow me to change them. is this the kind of problem you are having ?
tranquilprime is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tranquilprime
I also have problems with the USB card and my onboard USB, i get a lot of IRQ's. but my mobo wont allow me to change them. is this the kind of problem you are having ?
What happens is the card is recognised on first pluging in and seems to work ok usually, but as soon as a memory card is taken out the next one will usually refuse to read giving an 'I/O Error' even if its the same one being put back in. Or sometimes the reader will just completely drop out. Does this with CF and SD.
Shriker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.