Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2018, 08:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aljouf View Post
i had a problem with the old system it started giving me blue screen and freezing so i suspected it was a ram problem so i had to take the ram from my new system without realizing it could reset the OC's settings!


thanks for the help i appreciate it .
Instability should be checked by removing OC first, not removing hardware. And if it's an Origin PC I would have called them right off the bat saying your junk is giving me problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinel Hamzic View Post
keep in mind kmspico is available
Warez, activators, etc is against forum rules.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 02:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: S
Posts: 9
Default Re: Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinel Hamzic View Post
keep in mind kmspico is available

right

but i still rather to have an offical OS.


Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
That's only for major hardware changes, such as CPU/motherboard.

Good to know, now i feel better


Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Instability should be checked by removing OC first, not removing hardware. And if it's an Origin PC I would have called them right off the bat saying your junk is giving me problems.

Warez, activators, etc is against forum rules.

no, it isn't the origin pc but a different one and yes it turned out it was a faulty ram (good thing it has a lifetime warranty )
__________________

__________________
Aljouf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 03:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Bosnia
Posts: 17
Default Re: Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings?

one quick off topic question why dont I have designer tab in powerpoint 2016 plus windows 10 pro?
__________________
Dinel Hamzic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 03:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aljouf View Post
right

but i still rather to have an offical OS.





Good to know, now i feel better





no, it isn't the origin pc but a different one and yes it turned out it was a faulty ram (good thing it has a lifetime warranty )
If it's not an Origin PC then why would it have an OC from them?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 03:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: S
Posts: 9
Default Re: Does removing a ram stick cuases the mobo to reset the OC settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If it's not an Origin PC then why would it have an OC from them?

i think you got things mixed, the new PC is the origin one and its working fine i just took the ram off the system to try it on my old pc to determine is it a hardware or OS problem turned out it was the ram that was giving me a hard time.
__________________

__________________
Aljouf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need to reset administration password with out a reset disk keylefoxy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-26-2011 08:32 PM
Memory Stick vs Memory Stick Pro vs Memory Stick Pro Duo jbc Digital Photography and Imaging 6 03-06-2010 08:47 AM
RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick? Zatio89 System Upgrades 3 06-29-2007 10:11 PM
Memory 1 1gb stick and 1 512mb stick strife1344 System Upgrades 5 05-16-2006 07:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.