does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2010, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Hi,

the title basically already states my question: does it make any difference which hard-disc I connect to which SATA connector of my motherboard? My motherboard has 6 SATA connectors, Do they have a certain order?

Lars
__________________

__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Corsair 6GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Triple Channel
Coolermaster HAF 932
Corsair 850W ATX
2x Samsung 1TB SATA II 32Mb HD103UJ
1x Samsung 640GB 16MB 7200rpm
4x LG DVD_CD drives
Sapphire 1GB HD4870 PCI-E
Win 7 home premium 64bit


My website

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Your OS drive has to be in SATA0. Look in your motherboard manual. It will tell you which is which. Beyond that, it does not matter.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Your OS drive has to be in SATA0. Look in your motherboard manual. It will tell you which is which. Beyond that, it does not matter.
Thanks!

My motherboards SATA connectors are labeled form SATA1 through SATA6, there is no SATA0.
Am I missing something?

I don't know if this is important, but in the BIOS I have 'Configure SATA' set tp 'RAID' (that's becasue I have one big data disc in mirrored RAID set-up).

Lars
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Corsair 6GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Triple Channel
Coolermaster HAF 932
Corsair 850W ATX
2x Samsung 1TB SATA II 32Mb HD103UJ
1x Samsung 640GB 16MB 7200rpm
4x LG DVD_CD drives
Sapphire 1GB HD4870 PCI-E
Win 7 home premium 64bit


My website

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Some say SATA0 others are SATA1. Depends on board, but yes, OS on first one available. If you have RAID, leave it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Some say SATA0 others are SATA1. Depends on board, but yes, OS on first one available. If you have RAID, leave it.
Thanks !

Well, I have always had it connected this way, and I don't think OS is connected to SATA1.
Would it only make a difference if I was not using RAID?
If I change it around now, will that mess things up?
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Corsair 6GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Triple Channel
Coolermaster HAF 932
Corsair 850W ATX
2x Samsung 1TB SATA II 32Mb HD103UJ
1x Samsung 640GB 16MB 7200rpm
4x LG DVD_CD drives
Sapphire 1GB HD4870 PCI-E
Win 7 home premium 64bit


My website

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

That's how I know it to be. I'm not very keen on RAID, except how it works.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
That's how I know it to be. I'm not very keen on RAID, except how it works.
OK ! Thanks. Well , I guess, since everything is working, I better leave it the way things are. I suppose, if it was not connected right, I would probably notice, no?
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Corsair 6GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Triple Channel
Coolermaster HAF 932
Corsair 850W ATX
2x Samsung 1TB SATA II 32Mb HD103UJ
1x Samsung 640GB 16MB 7200rpm
4x LG DVD_CD drives
Sapphire 1GB HD4870 PCI-E
Win 7 home premium 64bit


My website

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 09:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

I've never cared where my drive was put in.... I had my os drive after my storage for yrs, and its never been an issue.

Moving them can cause issues as the bios doesn't know where the os went.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Quote:
Your OS drive has to be in SATA0. Look in your motherboard manual. It will tell you which is which. Beyond that, it does not matter.
Not necessarily. Well, maybe it does if you are using Windows but I should think not.

When the computer boots up it'll assign labels to the hard drives based on which SATA port they are plugged into, those labels will always be the same so that your MBR will always look at the right spot for where to boot up an OS. Easy way to explain is to look at my setup on which I am running linux. I have three SATA drives plugged into SATA1, 2, and 3. They get assigned sda, sdb, and sdc respectively. My MBR looks for the boot kernel on 1 of those 3 drives. If I went into my computer and swapped that one with another one it wouldn't know how to boot. Not too big of a deal since you won't often be swapping around your SATA cables. One issue that comes up is if you happen to plug in a new IDE device. Depending on your BIOS it may load up IDE before SATA (or maybe not) and thus bump your drives all up by one (new IDE=sda, old sda=sdb, old sdb=sdc, old sdc=sdd)

If you had a drive hooked up to SATA4 from the get go, when you booted from a Windows disc to install it should detect the drive and install it to the right place (along with the correctly configured MBR) so it shouldn't have to be on the first port.

As for the RAID, since it is mirrored your MBR can point to the correct spot on any of the identical partitions in order to boot so it shouldn't matter. As long as it is pointing to the correct drive in the first place. I have a RAID setup between SATA 1 and 2 (sda and sdb) on which I have two small mirror partitions holding my kernel, so I could set my bootloader to boot from either of them and nothing would change.

Marc
MrMarcDee is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: does it matter to which SATA connectors I connect my hard-discs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
I've never cared where my drive was put in.... I had my os drive after my storage for yrs, and its never been an issue.

Moving them can cause issues as the bios doesn't know where the os went.
Thanks !



Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMarcDee View Post
Not necessarily. Well, maybe it does if you are using Windows but I should think not.

When the computer boots up it'll assign labels to the hard drives based on which SATA port they are plugged into, those labels will always be the same so that your MBR will always look at the right spot for where to boot up an OS. Easy way to explain is to look at my setup on which I am running linux. I have three SATA drives plugged into SATA1, 2, and 3. They get assigned sda, sdb, and sdc respectively. My MBR looks for the boot kernel on 1 of those 3 drives. If I went into my computer and swapped that one with another one it wouldn't know how to boot. Not too big of a deal since you won't often be swapping around your SATA cables. One issue that comes up is if you happen to plug in a new IDE device. Depending on your BIOS it may load up IDE before SATA (or maybe not) and thus bump your drives all up by one (new IDE=sda, old sda=sdb, old sdb=sdc, old sdc=sdd)

If you had a drive hooked up to SATA4 from the get go, when you booted from a Windows disc to install it should detect the drive and install it to the right place (along with the correctly configured MBR) so it shouldn't have to be on the first port.

As for the RAID, since it is mirrored your MBR can point to the correct spot on any of the identical partitions in order to boot so it shouldn't matter. As long as it is pointing to the correct drive in the first place. I have a RAID setup between SATA 1 and 2 (sda and sdb) on which I have two small mirror partitions holding my kernel, so I could set my bootloader to boot from either of them and nothing would change.

Marc
Thanks, Marc.

I have had it set up like this since I put this PC together, actually never really had a problem, but I was just thinking if it would be better performance-wise to actually have the boot-drive on the first SATA connector.

When I open up disc management it shows my RAID storage drive as disc 0 and my main disc (with the OS on it) as disc 1. I suppose, normally it should be the other way around?

If I swapped the connectors on my motherboard, would that only be an issue of re-adjusting the BIOS accordingly or could this really mess up Windows?

Thanks,
Lars
__________________

__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz
Corsair 6GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Triple Channel
Coolermaster HAF 932
Corsair 850W ATX
2x Samsung 1TB SATA II 32Mb HD103UJ
1x Samsung 640GB 16MB 7200rpm
4x LG DVD_CD drives
Sapphire 1GB HD4870 PCI-E
Win 7 home premium 64bit


My website

Santuzzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Up Raid 0 with Back Up Drive on a Motherboard with 2 Sata Connectors Clueless M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-27-2010 12:41 PM
PSU SATA connectors Paisan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-15-2007 06:46 PM
How can I find out if my computer has SATA connectors? bartthecartoon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-23-2005 09:49 PM
939 with atleast 3 SATA connectors str8lazy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 07-08-2004 04:15 PM
sata power connectors? giblet101 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-15-2004 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.