Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2009, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

If this is in the wrong place, I am sorry. Anyways, to me this does not make sense. I was using a Belkin Wireless G PCI card for a while on my desktop because the one I was using messed up and had to send it back to Linksys to get a replacement at no charge. That is why I was using the Belkin card.

Well I got my replacement Linksys card back so I take the Belkin card out and put the new Linksys card in. I figured I was going to have to install the drivers and whatnot for the new card but when Windows loaded up, I did not have to do a single thing. I didn't even uninstall the Belkin card. Internet started working instantly.

Is this normal? I mean I figured I would have to do something to get it working again.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

Could possibly be that you still had the drivers in your PC when you took it out the first time so when you plugged in the new one it automatically recognized it.
__________________

808Alaska is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

Also could just be a default driver that windows comes with.

I get wifi driver updates through winupdate all the time.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
If this is in the wrong place, I am sorry. Anyways, to me this does not make sense. I was using a Belkin Wireless G PCI card for a while on my desktop because the one I was using messed up and had to send it back to Linksys to get a replacement at no charge. That is why I was using the Belkin card.

Well I got my replacement Linksys card back so I take the Belkin card out and put the new Linksys card in. I figured I was going to have to install the drivers and whatnot for the new card but when Windows loaded up, I did not have to do a single thing. I didn't even uninstall the Belkin card. Internet started working instantly.

Is this normal? I mean I figured I would have to do something to get it working again.
Yeah, that's normal. Like it was said above, Windows comes with a lot of drivers these days, especially later OSes such as Vista and Win7.
oldskool is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

I figured Windows would have drivers for it but nothing came up about finding new hardware. I just never had this happen before so that is why this seems strange to me.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Does this make sense to you? PCI adapters

I am willing to bet with at least 99% certainty that once you booted Windows after installing the card you got the message "Windows is searching for drivers for your new device" which would come right after the ballon pop up of "Windows has detected new hardware". As such the search had results for the adapter and installed them which allowed it to work without having to install drivers.

Oldskool is right, Windows is getting more and more advanced drivers included with the Os's now and as such there are default drivers for many devices out there.

My advice at this point would be to go to the Device Manager, check under the adapter's driver tab. Check the date listed for the driver and see if there is a newer driver out there. The driver, while it works, may be outdated and there could be a updated driver that fixes some known issues.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
wireless PCI LAN card blocking part of graphics card fan Santuzzo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-01-2009 07:59 AM
Make an AVI Smaller sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 14 05-31-2007 08:27 AM
what would make more sense? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-22-2007 05:32 AM
Nero 6 to make VCD sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-21-2007 04:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.