DOA Motherboard or CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2009, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default DOA Motherboard or CPU?

hey guys,
I just ordered a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P MB and a Core2 quad q9400 CPU. I am using 4x2gig Gskill ddr2800 ram. i installed the new MB and CPU and am having a problem. when i try to turn on my rig, all the fans spin and the lights come on on the MB for less than a second, then it does it again about every 4 seconds. all of my other hardware works fine as it was the hardware from a previously working rig. i am wondering if it is a CPU or MB problem. hopefully somone can help.
thanks
__________________

Weebay is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DOA Motherboard or CPU?

Likely a grounding problem.

Un attach everything except one stick of RAM, Heat sink and CPU, video card and power connectors to motherboard and Video card.

Take the motherboard out of the case and place it on a NON conductive surface.

Try turning it on now.

If the same thing happens, clear CMOS and reseat the RAM and video card.

If the same thing happens, take the memory out.

Turn it on, if the same thing happens its probably a bad power supply.

If the motherboard Beeps many times (as it should with no RAM) then it means that the RAM is bad, try all sticks until it works.

You may have to RMA all the sticks if it gets to this point.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

i will give this a try. thanks a lot =)

works like a charm. thank you very much for your help. saved me lots of time and grief. =)
Weebay is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: DOA Motherboard or CPU?

No problem, just be sure to use all standoffs when placing the motherboard back into case.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fry's Gigabyte mATX motherboard and Phenom X3 435 CPU combo for $59.99 Brinson Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 12-05-2009 05:32 PM
Gaming Computer (budget) Greenbow New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-06-2009 03:14 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.