Do I need speakers to plug headphones in? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2006, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 98
Default Do I need speakers to plug headphones in?

My speakers died, and I want to hear sound from my computer (imagine that). I'm just wondering why, or if, I need a set of speakers to transfer sound to me if I just want to use headphones instead for a time.

I tried plugging them into the speaker jack on the back of the PC and got no sound out of it. I'm not surprised, but I am wondering what the reason for this is.

The drivers are still intact. Why can't they communicate with the headphones just as a set of speakers? I understand I wouldn't be able to change the volume.

Striken is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311

the headphones should work because theyre what im usin right now!
are you shure it is not ur soundcard/drivers

El_Roberto is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 98

I ran a diagnostic program that was included with my Creative audio driver. It all passed. I am almost sure the drivers are fine. The speakers were aging.
Striken is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 07:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980

It should work exactly the same as speakers. Unless the phones are bad too or something. I assume you used phones you know are good and the volume is up. There is a setting under sounds and audio devices where you can change the type of speaker you have connected, but it really shouldn't matter, that just kind of tweaks the sound quality.
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan

As superdave said, it should be completely plug-and-play. I normally have my speakers connected and connect headphones instead when it's late. Same plug.

1) Make sure sound isn't muted or turned off, both in Windows and in your headphones (if applicable).
2) Check you're plugging into the correct hole on to the sound card or the motherboard audio port.
3) Verify the headphones are working. Just try them somewhere else.

SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 98

Well the headphones DID work when I plugged them into the sound card this time. Thanks guys. I learned something.

Striken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.