Do I need a new video card? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2008, 03:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

BTW the card I'm using is an EVGA 8800gtx, you can see why I'm a little reluctant to just go buy a new one :P
__________________

x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

lol, indeed. having two never hurts
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 04:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Oops, ended up posting two of the same thing. Anyways, keep posting ideas please!
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 04:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

[QUOTE=nagasama;1369722]try a different cable as well.
QUOTE]

I have tried 3 different cables, including a VGA with a DVI switcher thingy. All the same results.
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 04:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

pretty sure that would narrow it down to the card.
go to best buy or somewhere similar and buy a cheap card. plug it in and see if it works. you have 30 days to return a video card (at least from CC...if it is not on clearance).
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 09:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Sounds to me like the card is dead. Did you OC it much?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 01:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Sounds to me like the card is dead. Did you OC it much?
Not at all.
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 02:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by x39363440845 View Post
OK Mr. Genius, I tried a different monitor and was actually able to get into safe mode. I deleted my old drivers and it quit doing that zebra stripe tetris blocks thing, but I'm still getting these dots and lines all over my monitor.
Mm he was only giving you simple adive there, anyway back to the issue I'm gonna say it's a software issue if it seems to run in safe-mode, you could on the other hand try a different OS, say run linux off the live-cd or format your whole system if you think its a software problem.
Nick is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 03:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
Mm he was only giving you simple adive there, anyway back to the issue I'm gonna say it's a software issue if it seems to run in safe-mode, you could on the other hand try a different OS, say run linux off the live-cd or format your whole system if you think its a software problem.
It runs in safe mode, but with the same lines and dots across the screen. I'm going to try to get ahold of a friend today to see if he'll lend me a video card to confirm that is the problem (which it seems most likely is).
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Video card was the problem, thanks for the help guys. Now I'm off to get an RMA (hopefully).
__________________

x39363440845 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which video card is better? zukster System Upgrades 22 03-20-2008 10:16 PM
Getting a new video card finally KSoD System Upgrades 26 03-13-2008 11:25 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
Simple Video Card Question White_Wolf System Upgrades 1 11-19-2007 05:05 PM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.