Do I need a new video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2008, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Do I need a new video card?

I've had this computer for a little over a year now. Just recently (two days ago) it started freezing up while I was playing WoW. It seemed to me like something was overheating, but all the temps I was reading were fine. The problem progressively got worse and now when I start my pc, I cant get into the BIOS, and when it gets to the point where it should be in windows, all I see is...tetris blocks or something. My mobo doesn't have an on-board vid card so I cant really tell if its my vid card that fried or if it's something else. Any suggestions?
__________________

x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Initial thoughts...

Check the GPU fan, make sure it is running.

Blow out the GPU heatsink.

Possibly the PSU going bad.

Possibly the Card going bad.

Card may need re-seating.

Drivers may be corrupted and thus need to be downloaded and reinstalled.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Initial thoughts...

Check the GPU fan, make sure it is running.

Blow out the GPU heatsink.

Possibly the PSU going bad.

Possibly the Card going bad.

Card may need re-seating.

Drivers may be corrupted and thus need to be downloaded and reinstalled.
The fan runs, I blew out the entire computer. Could be the psu (hope so, it'd be cheaper to replace), and I re-seated the card. Can't see anything on the computer so I can't install new drivers. I can't even get into safemode or bios.
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Here's a picture I took of my monitor. This is all I can see when I turn on my computer.

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/1259/dsc01320nr1.jpg
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Can you get hold of another monitor to try on the computer to rule out the monitor?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Can you get hold of another monitor to try on the computer to rule out the monitor?
I don't think the monitor is at fault here because the night before it started doing whats in the picture, the computer would freeze up and whatever music I was playing would start skipping. Though I know that this particular model of Sceptre monitors has trouble with their dvi ports, but again I dont think that would cause my computer to freeze.
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Do you have access to a different PS? (especially if yours isant a first tier one)

what kind of hardware are you using?
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Can you get hold of another monitor to try on the computer to rule out the monitor?
OK Mr. Genius, I tried a different monitor and was actually able to get into safe mode. I deleted my old drivers and it quit doing that zebra stripe tetris blocks thing, but I'm still getting these dots and lines all over my monitor.
x39363440845 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

My thought is, probably the video card is wacked. What brand is it? You could RMA directly to the company, and they will send you a new one back. Sometimes, depending on the card, you might get lucky, and they send you a slightly better/newer card.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Do I need a new video card?

try a different cable as well.
and, IMHO...you always need a new video card. at least, i do.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which video card is better? zukster System Upgrades 22 03-20-2008 10:16 PM
Getting a new video card finally KSoD System Upgrades 26 03-13-2008 11:25 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
Simple Video Card Question White_Wolf System Upgrades 1 11-19-2007 05:05 PM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.